Borgstrom, Montembeault Named to All-Star Classic

Henrik Borgstrom, Sam Montembeault to Represent T-Birds at 2019 Lexus AHL All-Star Classic pres. by MGM Springfield

Jan 3, 2019

Click Here to Buy AHL All-Star Tickets


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The American Hockey League announced on Thursday the full rosters for the 2019 Lexus AHL All-Star Classic presented by MGM Springfield, taking place on Sunday, Jan. 27 and Monday, Jan. 28 in downtown Springfield. Representing the host Springfield Thunderbirds in this year's event are center Henrik Borgstrom and goaltender Sam Montembeault. It is each player's first selection to the AHL All-Star Classic.

“Sam and Henrik have earned this tremendous honor through hard work and dedication,” said Florida Panthers Assistant General Manager & Thunderbirds General Manager Eric Joyce. “We’re proud that they’ll have an opportunity to represent the Thunderbirds organization on home ice at the MassMutual Center during the 2019 AHL All-Star Classic.”

Borgstrom, 21, began his AHL career in Springfield in October and immediately earned league-wide notice when he earned the CCM/AHL Rookie of the Month honor for his first month in the league. In his first seven games with the Thunderbirds, Borgstrom tallied 11 points on four goals and seven assists.

In 24 total games with Springfield this season, Borgstrom has recorded five goals and 17 assists for 22 points. The Helsinki, Finland native earned a call-up to the Florida Panthers on Dec. 15 and has since recorded three goals and an assist in eight games with the NHL club.

A former Hobey Baker Award finalist and 2017 national champion at the University of Denver, Borgstrom was originally a first round pick (23rd overall) by the Panthers in the 2016 NHL Draft.

Montembeault, 22, is in his second season as a pro goaltender. In 22 games with Springfield this season, he has recorded 11 victories and a .900 save percentage. His 11 wins are tied for the second most in the Atlantic Division and tied for the seventh most in the AHL. He went 6-1-0 in his first seven decisions, posting a 2.74 goals against average, .914 save percentage, and one shutout.

A native of Becancour, QC, Montembeault has recorded 24 career wins at the AHL level in 63 total games played to go along with three shutouts. He was originally a third round pick (77th overall) of the Florida Panthers in the 2015 NHL Draft.

Borgstrom and Montembeault will both participate as members of the Atlantic Division All-Star team. Each of the AHL’s four divisions will be represented by 12 players. Rosters were determined by committees of AHL coaches, and all 31 AHL teams are represented by at least one All-Star.

The 2019 rosters feature 35 first-time AHL All-Stars and 13 former first- or second-round draft choices. In addition, 26 of the All-Stars named have been recalled to the National Hockey League already this season, including standouts Michael Dal Colle of the Bridgeport Sound Tigers (N.Y. Islanders), Mackenzie Blackwood of the Binghamton Devils (New Jersey), Lawrence Pilut of the Rochester Americans (Buffalo), Collin Delia of the Rockford IceHogs (Chicago), Drake Batherson of the Belleville Senators (Ottawa) and Brandon Pirri of the Chicago Wolves (Vegas).

Charlotte Checkers head coach Mike Vellucci, Syracuse Crunch head coach Benoit Groulx, Iowa Wild head coach Tim Army and San Jose Barracuda head coach Roy Sommer will serve as coaches for the event.

The 2019 AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, Jan. 27 (7 p.m. ET) will pit the All-Stars from the two Eastern Conference divisions against those from the two Western Conference divisions in seven skills events: Puck Control Relay, Fastest Skater, Rapid Fire, Hardest Shot, Accuracy Shooting, Pass and Score, and Breakaway Relay.

In the 2019 AHL All-Star Challenge on Monday, Jan. 28 (7 p.m. ET), the four teams will participate in a 3-on-3, round-robin tournament featuring six games of 10 minutes each. The two teams with the best records at the end of the round-robin will face off for the championship, a six-minute, 3-on-3 game.

Tickets for the 2019 Lexus AHL All-Star Classic presented by MGM Springfield are priced at $39, $49, $59 and $99, and include admission to both the Skills Competition on Jan. 27 and the All-Star Challenge on Jan. 28. Tickets are available now at


Full rosters can be seen below: 

Atlantic Division All-Stars

Sebastian Aho, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (1st appearance)

Henrik Borgstrom, Springfield Thunderbirds (1st)

Trevor Carrick, Charlotte Checkers (2nd)

Greg Carey, Lehigh Valley Phantoms (1st)

Michael Dal Colle, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (1st)

Ryan Fitzgerald, Providence Bruins (1st)

John Gilmour, Hartford Wolf Pack (2nd)

Janne Kuokkanen, Charlotte Checkers (1st)

Colin McDonald (“C”), Lehigh Valley Phantoms (3rd)

Sam Montembeault, Springfield Thunderbirds (1st)

Ethan Prow, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (1st)

Vitek Vanecek, Hershey Bears (1st)

Coach: Mike Vellucci, Charlotte Checkers (1st)


North Division All-Stars

Drake Batherson, Belleville Senators (1st appearance)

Alex Belzile, Laval Rocket (1st)

Mackenzie Blackwood, Binghamton Devils (1st)

Reid Boucher, Utica Comets (2nd)

Cory Conacher, Syracuse Crunch (3rd)

Zac Dalpe, Cleveland Monsters (1st)

Connor Ingram, Syracuse Crunch (1st)

Trevor Moore, Toronto Marlies (1st)

Lawrence Pilut, Rochester Americans (1st)

John Quenneville, Binghamton Devils (1st)

Zach Redmond, Rochester Americans (2nd)

Calle Rosen, Toronto Marlies (1st)

Coach: Benoit Groulx, Syracuse Crunch (2nd)


Central Division All-Stars

Mason Appleton, Manitoba Moose (2nd appearance)

Erik Brannstrom, Chicago Wolves (1st)

Andrew Campbell (“C”), Rockford IceHogs (1st)

Daniel Carr, Chicago Wolves (1st)

Collin Delia, Rockford IceHogs (1st)

Matt Donovan, Milwaukee Admirals (2nd)

Denis Gurianov, Texas Stars (1st)

Kaapo Kahkonen, Iowa Wild (1st)

Jordan Kyrou, San Antonio Rampage (1st)

Cal O’Reilly, Iowa Wild (5th)

Brandon Pirri, Chicago Wolves (3rd)

Chris Terry, Grand Rapids Griffins (4th)

Coach: Tim Army, Iowa Wild (1st)


Pacific Division All-Stars

Andrew Agozzino, Colorado Eagles (2nd appearance)

Kyle Capobianco, Tucson Roadrunners (2nd)

Pavel Francouz, Colorado Eagles (1st)

Joe Gambardella, Bakersfield Condors (1st)

Conor Garland, Tucson Roadrunners (1st)

Josef Korenar, San Jose Barracuda (1st)

Curtis Lazar, Stockton Heat (1st)

Jacob Middleton, San Jose Barracuda (1st)

Francis Perron, San Jose Barracuda (1st)

Sheldon Rempal, Ontario Reign (1st)

Troy Terry, San Diego Gulls (1st)

Sean Walker, Ontario Reign (1st)

Coach: Roy Sommer, San Jose Barracuda (3rd)


Back to All